José Manuel Durão Barroso President European Commission Rue de la Loi 200

B-1049 Brussels

Dear President Barroso,

We, 14 company CEOs from the energy intensive manufacturing industry, are worried about our immediate and long-term future in Europe.

The forthcoming January proposals of the Energy and Climate 2030 package and the discussion about Energy State Aid therefore represent a unique opportunity for the Commission to better align the EU's energy and climate policies with our shared imperative to restore industrial competitiveness and restart investments in Europe.

- There should only be one single realistic GHG target, matched by a second target addressing industrial growth. Both must be closely monitored and readjusted if Europe is not on track to deliver on both.
- The price for carbon, renewables surcharges and other taxes and levies should not be used to transfer the cost of the energy transition onto manufacturing industries, the backbone of Europe's economy. The high cost of non-competitive technologies to decarbonise the power sector cannot be borne by our companies in addition to already uncompetitive energy prices. This also needs to be reflected in the new Environment and Energy State Aid Guidelines.
- All energy supplies supporting a cost efficient and competitive transition towards a low carbon economy, including indigenous sources of shale gas, should be mobilized.
- The ETS should be allowed to run its course until 2020 without any further modifications. It will achieve its CO2 emission reduction target at the least cost if current protection against the risk of carbon leakage is maintained. Between 2020 and 2030, the CO2 target should include two pathways within the same ETS: one with full direct and indirect compensation allowing for growth of our industry and another one for the sustainable decarbonisation of the power sector.

We ask for a strong political signal in order to mobilise further investments in the EU.

Yours sincerely,



Cc:

Herman van Rompuy, President of the European Council Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament Commissioner Oettinger, Vice-President Tajani, Commissioner Hedegaard Amalia Sartori, MEP, Chair of ITRE Committee, Matthias Groote, MEP, Chair of ENVI Committee